About Cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies.



« Back to Elections home

All Constituencies

Liberal Democrat hold

Top three parties at a glance
Liberal Democrat 144 % 48.01%
Conservative 98 % 32.88%
Labour 36 % 12.31%
Swing: 0.24% from Liberal Democrat to Conservative
Candidate Party Votes % +/- %
Bob Russell Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo Liberal Democrat Elected 22,151 48.01
Will Quince Essex County Standard: Tory Conservative 15,169 32.88
Jordan Newell Essex County Standard: Labour
Labour 5,680 12.31
John Pitts Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo UK Independence Party 1,350 2.93
Sidney Chaney Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo British National Party 705 1.53
Peter Lynn Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo Green 694 1.50
Eddie Bone Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo English Democrats 335 0.73
Garryck Noble Peoples Party Essex 35 0.08
Paul Shaw No description 20 0.04
Majority 6,982 15.13
Turnout 46,139 62.30



Will Bob Russell face backlash over deal with Conservatives?

8:00am Friday 14th May 2010

LABOUR activists in Colchester claim the historic deal between Conservative and Lib Dem MPs will cause a slump in support for town MP Bob Russell.

Essex MPs in talks after Brown quits Essex County Standard: Quitting – Gordon Brown announces his decision

3:58pm Tuesday 11th May 2010

NORTH Essex MPs took part in crunch talks with their party leaders after the Prime Minister announced plans to step down as Labour leader.

Tory candidate vows: I’ll be back next time

9:00pm Monday 10th May 2010

COLCHESTER’S defeated Tory candidate has promised to stay in the town and fight again.

Conservatives’ bid to take control thwarted Essex County Standard: The only Labour victory of the night – Julie Young retains her St Andrew’s seat

7:30pm Monday 10th May 2010

THE parties suffered mixed fortunes as the political landscape of Colchester was changed during the local elections.

Bob pledges to continue school fight as he retains Colchester seat Essex County Standard: Bob Russell, who was re-elected as MP for Colchester.

10:33am Friday 7th May 2010

BOB Russell motored to a fourth term as Colchester’s Member of Parliament with room to spare.

Historic moment as Priti wins new Witham seat Essex County Standard: Priti Patel, the new MP for Witham.

10:23am Friday 7th May 2010

IT felt like an historic moment.

Yeo thrilled by Suffolk South result

10:30am Friday 7th May 2010

SOUTH Suffolk voters once again supported the man who has represented them for the past 27 years.

Jenkin honoured to elected Harwich and North Essex MP Essex County Standard: Bernard Jenkin, the new MP for Harwich and North Essex.

10:29am Friday 7th May 2010

BERNARD Jenkin’s lengthy career in the Houses of Parliament is to continue after he won a resounding victory in Harwich and North Essex constituency.

Whittingdale wins landslide victory in Maldon Essex County Standard: John Whittingdale is the MP for the new Maldon constituency.

9:47am Friday 7th May 2010

FAVOURITE John Whittingdale has won a landslide victory for the Conservatives and will represent the new Maldon constituency.

Brooks claims landslide victory in Braintree.

6:30am Friday 7th May 2010

Tory Brooks Newmark has stormed to victory in the Braintree constituency.