About Cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies.


Harwich & Essex North

« Back to Elections home

All Constituencies

Conservative hold

Top three parties at a glance
Conservative 140 % 46.94%
Liberal Democrat 70 % 23.58%
Labour 59 % 19.95%
Swing: 0.00% from Conservative to Liberal Democrat
Candidate Party Votes % +/- %
Bernard Jenkin Essex County Standard: Tory Conservative Elected 23,001 46.94
James Raven Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo Liberal Democrat 11,554 23.58
Darren Barrenger Essex County Standard: Labour
Labour 9,774 19.95
Simon Anselmi Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo UK Independence Party 2,527 5.16
Stephen Robey Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo British National Party 1,065 2.17
Chris Fox Essex County Standard: ElectionsModule Party Logo Green 909 1.86
Peter Thompson Bates Independent 5 170 0.35
Majority 11,447 23.36
Turnout 49,000 69.26



Will Bob Russell face backlash over deal with Conservatives?

8:00am Friday 14th May 2010

LABOUR activists in Colchester claim the historic deal between Conservative and Lib Dem MPs will cause a slump in support for town MP Bob Russell.

Essex MPs in talks after Brown quits Essex County Standard: Quitting – Gordon Brown announces his decision

3:58pm Tuesday 11th May 2010

NORTH Essex MPs took part in crunch talks with their party leaders after the Prime Minister announced plans to step down as Labour leader.

Tory candidate vows: I’ll be back next time

9:00pm Monday 10th May 2010

COLCHESTER’S defeated Tory candidate has promised to stay in the town and fight again.

Conservatives’ bid to take control thwarted Essex County Standard: The only Labour victory of the night – Julie Young retains her St Andrew’s seat

7:30pm Monday 10th May 2010

THE parties suffered mixed fortunes as the political landscape of Colchester was changed during the local elections.

Bob pledges to continue school fight as he retains Colchester seat Essex County Standard: Bob Russell, who was re-elected as MP for Colchester.

10:33am Friday 7th May 2010

BOB Russell motored to a fourth term as Colchester’s Member of Parliament with room to spare.

Historic moment as Priti wins new Witham seat Essex County Standard: Priti Patel, the new MP for Witham.

10:23am Friday 7th May 2010

IT felt like an historic moment.

Yeo thrilled by Suffolk South result

10:30am Friday 7th May 2010

SOUTH Suffolk voters once again supported the man who has represented them for the past 27 years.

Jenkin honoured to elected Harwich and North Essex MP Essex County Standard: Bernard Jenkin, the new MP for Harwich and North Essex.

10:29am Friday 7th May 2010

BERNARD Jenkin’s lengthy career in the Houses of Parliament is to continue after he won a resounding victory in Harwich and North Essex constituency.

Whittingdale wins landslide victory in Maldon Essex County Standard: John Whittingdale is the MP for the new Maldon constituency.

9:47am Friday 7th May 2010

FAVOURITE John Whittingdale has won a landslide victory for the Conservatives and will represent the new Maldon constituency.

Brooks claims landslide victory in Braintree.

6:30am Friday 7th May 2010

Tory Brooks Newmark has stormed to victory in the Braintree constituency.